April Salter, Founder and CEO of SalterMitchell Public Relations

April is a veteran communications strategist with extensive national and statewide experience developing creative, cutting-edge approaches to public relations and marketing challenges. In addition to being a leader in public relations and issues management, she is known as a top cause-related marketing expert.

April has spent more than a decade working to help save Rhinos all over the world and bring attention to the loss of this species because of poaching. She’s led numerous campaigns for the International Rhino Foundation and is widely known for helping the organization auction Rhino Poop, which generated thousands of dollars to support the cause.

Her work on the Emmy award winning Fifth Guy campaign is one of the reasons everyone now knows to wash your hands to avoid catching the flu.

Nowadays, you can find April in Mexico Beach helping lead efforts and initiatives to rebuild from the devastation caused by Hurricane Michael.

April founded her public relations firm in 1999 and in 2005, joined long-time colleague Peter Mitchell to create a new advertising and research company focused on behavior change. What started as a one-woman shop has grown into a premier communications agency with a client base representing some of the most prestigious businesses and organizations in Florida.

In the last three decades, April has built an extensive network of clients, developed numerous campaigns and today continues to serve as a trusted advisor, counselor, problem solver and creative force in our industry and state.

We are truly delighted to recognize April Salter as this year’s Silver Medal Award Recipient.

Congratulations, April, on being recognized as our 40th recipient of the AAFT Silver Medal Award!

As an AAF Tallahassee member, this is your opportunity to recognize your peers in the advertising field for outstanding service and contribution to our creative industry. Your completed form below will be submitted to the Silver Medal Award Committee. This committee is comprised of former Silver Medal Award Winners. Through careful deliberation this committee will then make a recommendation to the AAFT Board for the Silver Medal Award Winner.

The winner will be honored at the American Advertising Awards on February 17, 2018 at the FSU Alumni Center. We suggest checking with your nominee to ensure they’ll be available to attend the event. The Silver Medal Winner receives two complimentary tickets to the Gala.

Silver Medal Award Nomination Criteria

  • Contribution to His/Her Company – The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service.
  • Creative Ability – The recipient must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.
  • Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising – The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.
  • Contributions to the Community – The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

History of the Silver Medal Award:

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, the AAF’s Ad Clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community. The award serves to enhance the image of advertising by recognizing a locally well-known person for his or her advertising and community involvement.

Past Silver Medal Award Recipients

2018 – April Salter
2017 – Sean Doughtie
2016 – Gil Ziffer
2015 – Gary Yordon
2014 – Cathy Schroeder
2013 – Charlie Belvin
2012 – Nick Waller
2011 – Jon Brown
2010 – Jerry Kidd
2009 – Ron Sachs
2008 ‐ Tom Tomasi
2007 ‐ Mike Vasilinda
2006 ‐ Tod Thomas
2005 ‐ Belinda Bininger
2004 ‐ Heather Johnson
2003 ‐ John Goodson
2002 ‐ Anna Johnson Riedel
2001 ‐ Rick Oppenheim
2000 ‐ Lee Ann Franceschi
1999 ‐ Richard Rice
1998 ‐ Karen Moore
1997 ‐ John Burns
1996 ‐ Tyler Wold
1995 ‐ Bob Carnley
1994 ‐ Maureen Thompson
1993 ‐ Frank Watson
1992 ‐ Gene Deckerhoff
1991 ‐ Duane Franceschi
1989 ‐ Judy Newsome
1988 ‐ Peter Mitchell
1987 ‐ Len Taliaferro
1986 ‐ John Evans
1985 ‐ Lynne Stephenson
1984 ‐ Don Keyes
1983 ‐ Chal Crowell
1980 ‐ Fellis Carnley
1979 ‐ Carol Ann Boydston
1978 ‐ Bill Boydston
1977 ‐ Susan Hove
1974 ‐ Fellis Carnley